

Kawartha-Haliburton Source Protection Authority Minutes of Meeting SPA #1/21

Meeting #1/21 was held on Thursday, March 25, 2021 by virtual meeting. Chair Letham called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m.

- Present: Andy Letham, Chair Deborah Kiezebrink, Director Angus Ross, Director Ted Smith, Director Kathleen Seymour-Fagan, Director Ron Hooper, Director Pat Dunn, Director Ron Windover, Director Pam Sayne, Director
- Regrets: Cathy Moore, Director Cam McKenzie, Director Patrick Kennedy, Director Liz Danielsen, Director
- Staff: Mark Majchrowski, CAO Emma Collyer, Director, Integrated Watershed Management Kristie Virgoe, Director, Stewardship and Conservation Lands Ron Warne, Director, Planning, Development & Engineering Wanda Stephen, Director, Corporate Services Jenna Stephens, Source Protection Technician Melanie Dolamore, Corporate Services Assistant John Chambers, Communications Specialist

Guests: None

Adoption of Agenda

RESOLUTION #1/21

MOVED BY: PAT DUNN SECONDED BY: RON WINDOVER

RESOLVED, THAT, the agenda for Meeting #1/21 be adopted.

CARRIED

Declaration of Pecuniary Interest

None.

Approval of Minutes

RESOLUTION #2/21

MOVED BY: TED SMITH SECONDED BY: RON HOOPER

RESOLVED, THAT, the minutes of Meeting #1/20 (May 28, 2020) be approved.

CARRIED

Business Arising from the Minutes

Mr. Majchrowski provided an update on the correspondence sent to the Ministry of Environment, Conservation and Parks, and the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs stemming from the discussion on Non-Agricultural Source Material at the last meeting. Staff from MECP and OMAFRA were present at this meeting to discuss the topic and recommendations were put forward to the Ministry for consideration. The Ministries confirmed that our letter was received, and that their offices are working on a response.

Update on TCC Source Protection Committee Activities

RESOLUTION #3/21

MOVED BY: Deborah Kiezebrink SECONDED BY: Pam Sayne

RESOLVED, THAT, the update on recent Source Protection Committee activities be received.

CARRIED

Ms. Jenna Stephens provided an overview of the activities of the Source Protection committee since its last meeting in 2020.

Summary of Proposed Policy Updates

RESOLUTION #4/21

MOVED BY: Ted Smith SECONDED BY: Ron Windover **RESOLVED, THAT**, the summary of the proposed policy updates be received.

CARRIED

Ms. Jenna Stephens provided the Board with an overview of the proposed policy updates.

Annual Progress Reporting		

RESOLUTION #5/21

MOVED BY: Pat Dunn SECONDED BY: Deborah Kiezebrink

RESOLVED, THAT, the Kawartha-Haliburton Source Protection Authority approve the grade of "P: Progressing Well/On Target" for the status of implementation within the watershed; AND,

THAT, the draft Kawartha Haliburton Source Protection Authority annual progress report be endorsed and forwarded to the Source Protection Committee for comment in accordance with O. Reg. 287/07.

CARRIED

Correspondence

RESOLUTION #6/21

MOVED BY: Ron Hooper SECONDED BY: Deborah Kiezebrink

RESOLVED, THAT, the correspondence be received.

CARRIED

Mr. Majchrowski provided an overview of correspondence received for the Board.

New Business	
--------------	--

The Chair proposed that the Source Protection Authority (SPA) meetings start at 2:00 p.m. in future to better accommodate the schedules of the SPA Directors joining from our Haliburton municipalities. The regular Board of Directors meeting would start at 1:00 p.m. and take a recess at 2:00 p.m. to allow for the Source Protection Authority meeting to proceed.

Next Meeting

April 22, 2021 @ 2:00 p.m.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 1:51 p.m.

RESOLUTION #7/21

MOVED BY: Pat Dunn SECONDED BY: Ron Windover

RESOLVED, THAT, the Kawartha-Haliburton Source Protection Authority meeting #1/21 be adjourned.

CARRIED

DocuSigned by C6EEF1826B684

Andy Letham Chair

DocuSigned by: Mapphausp Mar D995DE628B234EB

Mark Majchrowski CAO